History ALWAYS Repeats Itself

HistoryDino

A little comicality before I get into the thick of the topic 🙂

The Topic: “History ALWAYS Repeats Itself”

This phrase struck a nerve with me earlier today as I read it on a social media post. It was written with strong emphasis on the word ‘always’, using all caps. Most of us have a “history” that we’d rather not repeat – mine is my addiction. I realize this person did not direct this toward me, still this is where ‘my mind’ went!

I think the reason why it insighted such negative feelings is because the world tells those that have once struggled with an addiction that they will always be addicts. That they will find themselves in a never-ending battle, with constant relapses. Can you even begin to imagine the defeat they must feel with that ideal being beat into them. A statement like the one I read today, leaves NO hope for those in what appear to be hopeless situations.

It was a little over a year ago where I felt this way. I honestly felt doomed to be in a constant cycle of relapse! I really believed that I would never be “free” from my addiction to opiates. I know many people that have struggled with addiction and they have all felt this way. I also know that many people that have looked from the outside in would agree with the statement below.

Mistakes

I’ll just be honest. It’s hard when people look at you and think “She will always be a drug addict, even if she IN recovery. There is no cure!”

I think it’s just human nature to want those closest to you to “believe” in you! To think you can do it! I’m lucky in that I have so many people around me that have never given up on me!! Particularly my parents and children!

However, I know many who live without any hope or support. They live with the label “addict”. Their identity is wrapped around that word and everything that it means. Stop and think about that for a second. Words mean things. Have you ever been called something with a negative conotation? Ugly? Lazy? Useless? Stupid? Worthless? What have these words done to you??

Don’t get me wrong, addict is an appropriate term for someone IN active addiction. The definition of Addict: A Person who is addicted to an activity, habit, or substance. But why are we forced to carry around this for the rest of our lives? I feel like the world has preprogrammed us to believe that there is no hope. That relapse is okay. It’s expected. It will happen. They have set us up for failure before our recovery has even started.

I realize the world believes this way, because they really don’t have any answers, any hope. It is my desire to share with the world that there is hope!

17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. – 2 Corinthians 5:17

 32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. – John 8:32

Jesus really can free you from your addiction. Please visit the links I’ve shared to find out more! If you have questions, leave a comment or contact me via email! I would love to share more about Him with you!! He isn’t that “Big God in the Sky” looming over you, as I once thought. He is a personal God and cares deeply about you. So much so that He gave His life for YOU!!!

Praying for all of you that have come across this page and need Hope!

Siggy

Links:
Read about Chrystal’s life Here
HOPE 4 the Addicted

Need Help?
RU Recovery Ministries – Faith Based Addictions Ministry.
RU Homes – Residential Treatment for those who need a little more help.

One thought on “History ALWAYS Repeats Itself

  1. Pingback: Willfully Ignorant | Only By His Grace

Leave a Reply

